Geopolitics of ICT Standardisation: Focus on India

The Academy hosted a webinar diving into India's standardisation strategies in ICT on 27th May 2024 from 10:00 to 12:00 CEST (13:30 – 15:30 Indian time)

Explore the presentations below and discover the opportunities, challenges, and the potential for EU-India collaboration in ICT standardisation.

Download Slides 


10:00 - Welcome and introduction to the event,
Maria Giuffrida (Trust-IT Services)

10:05 - Intro into standardisation and geopolitics with a focus on technological sovereignty, Knut Blind (Fraunhofer ISI & TU Berlin)

10:15 - ICT Standards - Enabling Digital Transformation in India,
Abhishek Singh, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY); Prof. Partha Pratim Chakrabarti, Professor of Computer Science and former Director of Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

10:35 - India's Standardisation Strategies and Activities in a Global Context,
Anupam Kaul, Independent strategic adviser on Quality & Standards

10:55 - Opportunities and Challenges for the Cooperation of EU and India in Standardisation,
Dinesh Chand Sharma (Seconded European Standardisation Expert in India) Director – Standardisation & Public Policy

11:20 - India's strategies and activities in ICT standardisation,
Mr. Anupam Agrawal, ICT expert, Member IEC Governance Review and Audit Committee, Tata Consultancy Services

11:40 - Q&A & Discussion

12:00 - Conclusion


Speaker Bios

Dinesh Chand Sharma

Since 2012, Mr. Dinesh Sharma has been associated with European Standardisation Project, SESEI as Director – Standards and Public Policy. In this role, Mr. Sharma acts as the focal point in India representing European Standards Organizations (ETSI, CEN, CENELEC), European Commission (EC) and European Free Trade Association (EFTA). Mr Sharma’s current role as SESEI focuses around various sectors/topics falling under the domain of Digitalization, Green & Clean Energy and many other topics of mutual interest to India and EU. Prior to this, Mr. Sharma worked with Ericsson for 15 years, with last profile as “Director – Regulatory Affairs & Industry Relation”.

Anupam Kaul

Mr. Anupam Kaul  is an independent strategic adviser on Quality & Standards, focusing mainly on compliances to technical regulations and leveraging standards as competitive tools in trade. In his previous role he led the standards, quality management, laboratory management, risk management and quality in governance initiatives of the Confederation of Indian Industry till December 2020. He played a key role in conceptualising and developing the Indian National Strategy for Standardisation. He chairs two important standards committees on Quality management, and services fundamentals at the Bureau of Indian Standards. He represents India on several ISO committees and was instrumental in development of important ISO standards including ISO 9004 and ISO 37500. Recognised as one of the leading policy experts on standards, conformity assessment and technical regulations in India, he has represented industry in government-to-government dialogue on standards and conformance cooperation and regulatory issues on several bilateral dialogues including USA and Germany.

Abhishek Singh

Shri Abhishek Singh is a career civil servant with 29 years of experience in public policy and implementation and specialises in the use of technology for improving public services. He currently serves as Additional Secretary in India’s Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology with responsibilities of Artificial Intelligence & Emerging Technologies, Cyber Security and Digital Skilling. He has also been assigned the responsibility of Chief Executive Officer of Karmayogi Bharat – a Government Company tasked with building a tech platform for Capacity Building of all Civil Servants. He has led the implementation of key Digital India projects like Digilocker, MyGov, Cowin, UMANG, DIKSHA that form the core of India’s Digital Public Infrastructure.

He has done Masters in Public Administration from Harvard Kennedy School of Government. He is also an alumnus of IIT Kanpur. He was recently awarded the UNDP Future of Government Leadership Award.

Read time: 3 mins

  • Date
  • Time 10:00:00 - 12:00:00